Jefferson Scholars Foundation awards $35,000 to six top U.Va. faculty members

April 16, 2018

Six U.Va. faculty members across five different schools were recognized last week at a banquet at the Foundation, where they received awards totaling $35,000.

Kambiz Kalantari from the School of Medicine, George Overstreet from the McIntire School of Commerce and Lisa Reilly from the School of Architecture received the Foundation’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Gavin Garner and Gary Koenig from the School of Engineering and Applied Science received the Hartfield Excellence in Teaching Award.

David Gies from the College of Arts & Sciences received the Jefferson Scholars Foundation Faculty Prize.

Read the announcement in UVA Today here.



The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more

David and Jane Walentas

A transformational gift for UVA — $100 million to benefit first-generation students

Read more