In 2005, in connection with its 25th anniversary, the Jefferson Scholars Foundation created the Jefferson Scholars Faculty Prize.  The award is meant to foster an ongoing dialogue about Jeffersonian ideals and recognizes and celebrates the commitment of outstanding U.Va. faculty members to leadership, scholarship and citizenship,  the criteria for the selection of Jefferson Scholars.  It includes a $10,000 stipend to support future research and inquiry and the opportunity to address the U.Va. community on the ideals of leadership and citizenship as related to the recipient’s field of scholarship.  The prize is awarded every other year by the Alumni Advisory Committee.

Past recipients of the Jefferson Scholars Faculty Prize:

Jahan Ramazani, Professor of Modern and Contemporary Poetry, Postcolonial Literature (2005)

James Childress, Professor of Ethics and Medical Education (2007)

Kenneth Elzinga, Professor of Economics (2009)

Louis A. Bloomfield, Professor of Experimental Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics (2011)

Lisa Russ Spaar, Professor of English (2013)

Michael Timko, Professor of Biology (2015)



The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more