Over the last 12 years, the Jefferson Scholars Foundation has established three different faculty recognition programs, awarding more than $450,000 to approximately 50 faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences, the Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy, the McIntire School of Commerce, the School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the School of Medicine. 

Recipients receive cash stipends and are recognized at a reception at the Foundation. All recipients are also welcomed into the Jefferson Scholars community as Faculty Fellows and are invited to participate in all appropriate Foundation programs and events.

Foundation Faculty Prize

Awarded biennially, the Foundation Faculty Prize is voted on by Jefferson Scholars alumni on the criteria of leadership, scholarship and citizenship. Michael Timko, Professor in the Department of Biology, was the recipient of the 2015 Foundation Faculty Prize. The Prize will be awarded again in 2017-18.

Award for Excellence in Teaching

Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor, in 2012 the Jefferson Scholars Foundation began recognizing University faculty who have demonstrated both excellence in teaching and exceeding care for their students. This award honors those teachers in our community who have gone the extra mile in fulfilling their vocation without regard for their own advancement. The Foundation is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 Award for Excellence in Teaching. Click here to review the nomination guidelines.

Three recipients of this Award were named in 2017:

  • Cassandra Fraser, Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts & Science
  • Amanda Kibler, Department of Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education in the Curry School of Education
  • Anneke Schroen, Department of Surgery in the School of Medicine

Hartfield Prize

Since 2010, the Jefferson Scholars Foundation has invited students and faculty in the School of Engineering and Applied Science to nominate members of the Faculty for the Hartfield Jefferson Scholars Teaching Prize. Made possible through a $1,000,000 gift from an anonymous donor, the prize celebrates and recognizes excellent undergraduate teaching and curriculum development in engineering.

The recipients have demonstrated that communicating knowledge and inspiring students are as important to the education process as scholarship; they exemplify the highest standards and practices of teaching.

The 2017 Hartfield Prize winner is Mark Floryan, a lecturer in Computer Science.



The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more